After watching videos, reading blogs, hits & misses, cabinets are in!

After much blood, sweat and very little tears, but some thrown tools, all the cabinets are in!

I have to say, Ikea cabinets, could use a little more instruction. Not only that, but having to go back 5 times for missing and damaged pieces was definitely not fun. You most assuredly, need to watch the youtube videos out there and would suggest joining the IkeaFans blog, too. However, once you get the hang of it, it does move along a bit smoother. And at this point, I could probably have a second career installing. I will admit, I was surprised at how sturdy and strong the cabinets are. I was a little worried that they would be as flimsy as some of the bookcases, but that was definitely not the case. I would also make sure you save all the instruction booklets. Some may seem repetitive, but depending on the cabinet style you chose (full drawer pull outs versus drawer pullouts) the instructions will be towards the back on how to attache drawers and doors differently for each style. Sounds confusing, but just save them all :)!

In hindsight, there are definitely things I would change. I didn’t realize the cover panels we as thick as they were, so I should have taken that into consideration with my planning. Luckily in the one area where it makes the most difference, you can’t really tell. The other thing, is because the cabinets have legs versus solid base, I probably would have put the floor in first. That would have also given me another 1/2 inch of height in the cabinets, and every little bit helps.

Otherwise, I am pretty happy overall with how the layout panned out. We ended up order a bit more countertop on one side to create a place where we could pull up a couple stools and eat. Since we changed the original layout a bit, it took away the eat-in-kitchen, so this gives us that back in a way. I prefer to eat in the dining room, but for a quick bite to eat or even breakfast, it will be nice to just eat in the kitchen.

There are still some finishing touches that need to be completed, ie crown moulding, base moulding, toe-kicks, but being able to move everything out of the dining room and put into cabinets was a huge relief to me.

 

cabinets 2

One drawer is missing because it was damaged and had to replace it. It’s been since added

cabinets 4

Our new coffee bar cabinet!

cabinets 3

These cabinets that wrap around the chimney, gives us so much more counter space. I can’t wait to take advantage of it!

PS. I do love the way the chimney outlets look!!

cabinets 5

We will be covering the space above the microwave with a filler piece. The space above the fridge, I am probably going to leave, but put a basket with towels on it?

Cabinets 9

The cleanest the oven will ever be again 🙂

 

The floors have started to go in as well and look beautiful! I will share those pictures later!

 

Leave a Reply

